## **ZIMCODD** renews leadership

The Zimbabwe Coalition on Debt and Development (ZIMCODD) held its elective annual general meeting on the 23<sup>rd</sup> of June 2016. A new National Board was elected with Mr Liberty Bhebhe as the Chairperson whilst Dr Rita Beauty Nyampinga was elected Vice Chairperson.

More than 50 ZIMCODD cluster member organisations representatives cast their votes during the elections which were monitored by the Election Resource Centre (ERC).

The incumbent, Mr. Bhebhe who is based in Bulawayo was the ZIMCODD Southern Region (Bulawayo) Chairperson and has since rose through the rank to become ZIMCODD National Chairperson for a two year term (2016-2018) as stipulated in the organization's Constitution.



Mr Liberty Bhebhe

Mr Bhebhe is the Director at National Youth Development Trust. He has experience in civil rights, economic empowerment, human rights and poverty alleviation. He also holds a Masters Degree in Development Economics and International Development from the University of Manchester and is currently studying for a Doctor of Philosophy Degree in Sociology with Rhodes University.

The new ZIMCODD Board Vice Chairperson Dr. Rita Beauty Nyampinga is a keen human rights defender, trade unionist and gender equality advocate. She has been with ZIMCODD from the beginning and is an avid ZIMCODD Social and Economic Justice Ambassador (SEJA) who fearlessly denounces and acts against any social and economic injustices at all levels. Dr. Nyampinga is a holder of a diploma in Diplomatic Protocol and a trained mediator in political processes. In 2014, she was conferred with a doctorate in Humane Letters by the International Institute of Philanthropy for her work with female prisoners. As the Founder

and Director of Female Prisoners Support Trust (FEMPRIST) she strives to change the social life of women during and after incarceration.



Dr. Rita Nyampinga

In her acceptance speech, Dr. Rita thanked participants for having confidence in the new leadership to lead ZIMCODD. She also expressed gratitude to the outgoing board which was led by Mr. Joy Mabenge for a job well done and assured members that the new board will work as servants, plucking a leaf from their predecessors.

During the elective annual general meeting 12 institutional members were elected to represent their sectors in the national board, the sectors and members that will sit in the Board are;

- Arts and Culture- Savannah Arts
- Human Rights Organisations- Open Forum Initiative on Capacity Development (OFCDZ)
- Trade Unions-Zimbabwe Congress of Trade Unions (ZCTU)
- Disabilities organizations- Disability Association of Zimbabwe (DAZ)
- Regional organizations & research institutes- African Forum and Network on Debt and Development (AFRODAD)
- Debt, Trade & Economic Policy- Zimbabwe Chamber of Informal economies Association ( ZCEIA)
- Environmental organizations- Zimbabwe Environmental Law Association (ZELA)
- Faith based organizations-Christian Legal Society (CLS)
- Students and Youth-Youth Conscious Movement (YCM)
- Residents associations- Combined Harare Residents Association (CHRA)
- Women's Groups- Female Students Network

•	HIV/ Aids Health HIV (ZNNP+)	Organisations-	Zimbabwe	National	Network of	People	Living	with